Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Peloton: Product Teardown, Part 3 of 3

Uber badges? BeReal curtains? AI coaches? Find out what it all means in this Peloton teardown finale.

TLDR: WATCH THE VIDEO (click above)


A few final tidbits on Peloton to wrap up this teardown series – and it’s more feel-good than the Succession finale 🍿

👀 Getting started? Watch parts one and two first.

3 things you’ll learn from watching this:

  • What Peloton could learn from Uber about badges

  • A move they’re using from the BeReal playbook & a way to do this even better

  • Future Peloton features that AI could drive & why this is exciting

See you next week with an all-new teardown. 🎬 Any guess which app I’m doing? Hint: it “looms“ large in screen recording 😉

👉 This is a NEW series of product teardowns. Subscribe below to get future ones. Hit “subscribe.”

👂 Transcript:

Okay, a few last tidbits for us. So first we'll go to the profile screen. You've got your achievements. They're really focusing on badges here, but it's hidden under 2 clicks! So if you want to focus on badges, we really want people to feel pride in the things that they're accomplishing. And so these badges hidden two clicks away are not going to be something that I really strive for or achieve for.

Number one, I've only done one run – that's embarrassing. Next time you go into an Uber, just ask your Uber driver to open the app and you can see that they have badges – and they're quite proud of their badges even though only they see them: how many rides you've done, your reliability score… These types of things are pretty pride-inducing for folks. And I think Peloton’s probably underutilizing these. Same with the number of workouts. So if you've gone to a Peloton class before, you know that the instructors call you out for getting to 100 workouts or 200 workouts.

Have a friend who would enjoy these teardowns? Click the button below to refer them (& earn some great rewards)👇

Refer a friend

Like, how impressive. And yet this 253 workouts, like, gosh, I've done 253 workouts. That's crazy. Can we up-level that so that the instructors are reaffirming this benefit, this goal, this target that is in the app? And so my goal now should be to get to 300 workouts. How quickly could I get to 300 workouts?

They're really this power of the instructor setting the target, and then the app reinforcing it is probably something that Peloton could go harder on. And then finally, this is cool: I get to unlock a feature to follow other members to see what they're doing. Probably only effective if my friends are on the app, although I do have friends on the app.

This is taking a page out of the BeReal book, where BeReal put something behind that curtain and only if you do something do you get to see it. This may be too high a barrier, this 3 members. Because I don't really know if I have 3 members, I'm not exactly sure what will happen if I click this screen.

I have to find enter a username, which means I have to know 3 members' usernames, probably too much. And so it would probably do something like suggesting members for them to actually follow or just lowering it to one member and getting people just to do something to actually engage with this.

Peloton is doing a lot right. They have a few areas to improve, but the thing I'm most excited about is the future. So AI is coming and many times that scares us, but personally, I'm very excited and I'm most excited for Peloton to figure out how to integrate AI into their app. And what I mean by that is: you could imagine an AI coach that’s helping me achieve my goals.

So for me, I'd like to work out at least 5 times a week, minimum 10 minutes. Peloton currently in the app, never even asked me what my goal is. Never even asked me what my target is. You can imagine that there's some AI coach out there that's asking me, reminding me, giving me tips and tricks in order to get there.

What this does is give me some visibility. I’m usually just flying solo here. We have a lot of personal habits in our lives from eating to focus to working out, and they're something that you have to do by yourself. If other people can know your goals, if other people are aware of the things that you're tracking towards, it's going to help you achieve them and it probably wasn't possible before.

Real coaches are expensive. Labor is expensive. And AI unlocks the promise to help us achieve the things that we want to in life and not have to do it all by ourselves.

Share Product Teardowns

0 Comments
Product Teardowns
Product Teardowns